Chocolate-Orange Dates

Did you know dates are one of the world’s most ancient fruit?  Date palms are known to have been cultivated  for over 6,000 years in the Middle East and North Africa and appear in ancient art.

 The Garden, fresco from Nebamun tomb, originally in Thebes, Egypt, now in the British Museum, London, U.K. Painting on plaster, 1380 BC


The Garden, fresco from Nebamun tomb, originally in Thebes, Egypt, now in the British Museum, London, U.K. Painting on plaster, 1380 BC

A date palm tree, laden with fruit. Photo: met museum.org

A date palm tree, laden with fruit. Photo:
met museum.org

Dates are rich in minerals and a good source of fiber.  Turning the fruit into a sweet little guilt-free morsel could not be easier. When a friend dropped in unexpectedly and joined us for dinner recently, I made these dark chocolate-dipped dates with orange zest for a impromptu dessert. The chocolate envelops the date with a velvety decadence and the zest makes it pop. It is a perfect trifecta of  flavor.  Use any variety of dates you have on hand.

To make 8-10 dates, melt 1.5 oz of chocolate. I used a 1.44 oz bar of Dove Dark Chocolate for a yield of 8 coated Medjool dates. Dip half of each date in the melted chocolate then place it on a piece of wax paper.  Sprinkle finely grated orange zest on the warm chocolate and let set undisturbed until the chocolate loses its shine, about 30 minutes.  These would also be great with some chopped pistachios.  A healthy sweet little morsel with a lot of flavor!

image

image image

14 thoughts on “Chocolate-Orange Dates

  1. I think this is a great idea! Dates are a hard thing for me to like and I am not sure why. On the other hand with the addition of chocolate and the orange zest I do think I would love them! Johanne they are so pretty fanned out on the blue and white plate. Really great post.

    • Thank you Teresa! I hope these sweet little morsels convert you to loving dates even just a little bit! You make my day when you comment on one of my presentations and I am so happy you liked the shot of the dates on the blue plate. Love hearing from you.

      Johanne Lamarche

      >

  2. What a great, quick and easy morsel to pick up and gorge on. I don’t think I’d be satisfied with just 2. Love all those flavors, and I like the idea of pistachios too. I’m trying to lose the 4lbs I put on around Christmas time Johanne, and I’m always looking for these dessert like treats for after dinner. Thanks for the idea 🙂

    • Blogging is hard on the waistline Loretta! I hear you and need to work on myself too. These were quick and flavorful treat with a nice hit to satisfy chocolate lovers. Once you get working in your garden you’ll work off those pounds!

      Johanne Lamarche

      >

  3. Pingback: Recipe Round-Up: Gluten Free Desserts | French Gardener Dishes

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.