Fall Garden Tour

“Magnificent Autumn! He comes not like a pilgrim, clad in russet weeds. He comes not like a hermit, clad in gray. But he comes like a warrior, with the stain of blood upon his brazen mail. His crimson scarf is rent…. The wind…. wafts to us the odor of forest leaves, that hang wilted on the dripping branches, or drop into the stream. Their gorgeous tints are gone, as if the autumnal rains had washed them out. Orange, yellow, and scarlet, all are changed to one melancholy russet hue…. There is a melancholy and continual roar in the tops of the tall pines…. It is the funeral anthem of the dying year. “~Henry Wadsworth Longfellow

Fall is my favorite season for decorating and entertaining.  Gourds, mums, bittersweet, pumpkins and the rich jewel tones of the season bring their exhuberance to warm the cooling days.  It is an enchanting time of the year, full of vibrancy, texture and  color, nature’s punctuating mark of the year.   I was recently invited to speak to a local garden club and have their members tour my gardens.  Today  I invite you to visit as well.

image

image image

image

imageimageimageimageimageimageimageimageimageimageimageimageimageimageimageimageimageimageimageimageimageimageOn a patio table I created a display of my collection of garden cloches in their fall finery.  The vignette included bulbs, garden books, bottle brush animals, a fall arrangement of persicaria, sedum ‘Autumn Joy’ and flowering weeds from my garden in a bark wrapped vase, gourds, acorns, a vase of  pheasant feathers, mini pumpkins, bittersweet vines and garden tools,  all under a fern motif candle chandelier. Take a look!imageimageimageimageimageimageimageimageI hope you have enjoyed taking a stroll through my fall garden!

 

28 thoughts on “Fall Garden Tour

  1. Wonderful, just wonderful. I love fall as well..the colors are both vibrant and more muted..it is like nature has a greyed down brownish cast with hints of orange and purples.Your garden tour looks so fun and beautiful.

    • Kindred spirits Teresa! So happy to have you join me for the tour. I defied all the good advice of the wordpress tutorial of last week….way too many pictures, hardly any text….but it was a tour in photos! 🙂

      Sent from my iPad

      >

  2. Absolutely gorgeous Johanne, I can just picture myself in your wonderful surroundings, you’ve done a brilliant job bringing Fall to your garden. Bravo! Did you upgrade WP? The pictures are just delightful, it was a pictorial post of sorts and I loved it. Hey, are you back and around on Saturday? My husband and I were planning to spend the day in Philly, we could meet somewhere for lunch if you are up for it?

    • So happy to have you join me on a tour of the garden Loretta! Yes, I did upgrade to the premium service. I could not work for a whole week and felt absolutely lost! All these garden pictures probably used up a GB of my new memory bank!! Thank you for your advice. I am back but unfortunately this Saturday does not work for me to come into the city. Hopefully we will be able to connect soon. I hope you are doing something fun. I will be at The Barnes on Friday and always look forward to that.

      Sent from my iPad

      >

  3. Johanna,
    Absolutely stunning tour of your garden. You are an inspiration to us all with your decorating and gardening talents, lest us not forget about your wonderful posts in the kitchen too. You and Dona must get together with these photos on cardstock. Every picture in this post is a winner. I would love to be on that tour with the Garden Club. Your creativity is amazing.
    Marlene

    • Thank you so much for your kind words Marlene. This is what I was busy getting ready for while Dona was visiting you. She missed the tour too but I would have loved both of you to join me. I did have fun especially creating the cloche table display although it was hard to capture in a photo. Got to tour the magnificent Cathedral of Learning last weekend. Incredible treasure. How inspiring to have lectures in such magnificence. Are you taking classes there presently? Can you let me know if you receive my responses to you? Some readesprs tell me they don’t. I answer everyone. Nice to hear from you!

      Sent from my iPad

      >

    • Merci Nicole! Je suis épatée des décors d’automne que tu as composé dans le passé. Comme j’aimerais ètre plus proche de toi. On ferais de beaux projets ensembles! Xoxo

      Sent from my iPad

      >

  4. Your gardens with all of the flowers and your arrangements are just beautiful. That’s the way I want everything to look, but never take the time to do! I have my porch in pumpkins, mums and gourds, but the rest of the yard is a no go. Thank you for sharing these gorgeous pics!

  5. Pingback: Fiesta Friday #89 - Fiesta Friday

  6. Pingback: Share It One More Time #2 - The Everyday Home

  7. Pingback: Share It One More Time

  8. Pingback: Top 10 Reader Favorites of 2015 | French Gardener Dishes

  9. Pingback: Fall Decorating Ideas | French Gardener Dishes

  10. Pingback: Transitioning the Front Porch into Fall | French Gardener Dishes

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.