Monogrammed Fall Front Door Basket Wreath

 

image

Wreaths are a signature welcome at our front door and I like to keep them seasonal and change them often.  With ongoing glorious weather and plenty of blues, pinks and greens in my garden, I wanted to refresh the summer wreath but was not yet ready for pumpkins, mums and fall colors.  My black wicker porch furniture with blue and green linens will still be out for another month.  My solution was to emphasize the greens and create a monogram-door basket bursting with fall symbols in limes, natural elements and black and white touches. Grasses, apples, willow branches, moss and lotus seed pods all symbolize fall with nary any oranges and golds in sight. An early fall welcome!

Here is how I made this door basket:

Supplies:

image Plus, a hot glue gun, newspaper, wire cutter, suction cups, florist wire.

I started with a tall but thin door basket I had bought years ago on a trip to Maine. Welcome wreaths don’t always have to be in a wreath form and containers of all kind can be repurposed into door decorations.   I tied florist wire on the handle and again near the bottom to secure it more easily to 2 suction cups. Doubling the suction cups keeps a longer door basket from shifting when the door is opened and closed.  On a trip to Michaels I found a wooden inital already in black($7.99), jute ribbon in chartreuse and another in black and white, a stem of green apples, a stem of lime green daisies, reindeer moss in lime and other greenery.  I had lotus pods and willow branches at home.  The cost for this custom project was $30.

I stated by gluing the initial on the basket just slightly off center and in the lower half to make room for the ribbon.

I started by hot-gluing the initial on the basket just slightly off center and in the lower half to make room for the ribbon.

 

I played around with the ribbon deciding to layer the black and whit steiped over the chartreuse jute ribbons and offset a simple bow to the right.

I played around with the ribbon deciding to layer the black and white striped over the chartreuse jute ribbons and offset a simple bow to the right.  I glued on 2 trailers in each ribbon under the bow to beef up the ribbon cascade.  I cut the length to just beyond the bottom edge of the basket.  I think it looks very French, don’t you?

A single daisy was hot glued onto the knot of the bow.

A single daisy was hot glued onto the knot of the bow.

Next I played around with my filler and nestled crumpled newspaper around the stems to secure them into place without adding weight. I tucked the moss around any bare spots.

Next I played around with my fillers and nestled crumpled newspaper around the stems to secure them into place without adding weight. I tucked the moss around any bare spots.

imageimage

Voilà!  Bonjour automne!

image

 

Welcome!

Welcome!

 

 

6 thoughts on “Monogrammed Fall Front Door Basket Wreath

  1. Pingback: Transitioning Summer Planters into Fall | French Gardener Dishes

  2. Pingback: 7 Fall Decor DIY’s | French Gardener Dishes

  3. Pingback: Transitioning the Front Porch into Fall | French Gardener Dishes

  4. Pingback: Transitioning the Front Porch into Fall | French Gardener Dishes

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.