Laissez les bons temps rouler! A Mardi Gras Soirée

If ever there was a perfect excuse for a party, Mardi Gras is it!  Vibrant New Orleans cuisine, spirited music and fun decorations in the bright colors of the celebration:  regal purple, gold and emerald green. This year Mardi gras(Fat Tuesday) falls on March 4th.  In the great city of New Orleans, the celebrating starts in earnest 2 weeks before Mardi Gras and culminates on Fat Tuesday.  If you can’t head to New Orleans to take in the city-wide, 300 year old festivities,  bring the party home!

For this post, I created a Mardi Gras table setting including an idea for a fun and festive invitation.  Most of what I used for the decorations came from the Dollar Store, Michaels and Home Goods.

Because I wanted the traditionall decorations of Mardi Gras to shine on their own, and to keep the table from becoming too busy, I chose understated china and cream colored linens.  For a fresh centerpiece I got 3 bunches of purple tulips and placed these in a sparkly purple pedestal vase for height.  I used 3 mirrored 12″ x 12″ tiles from Home Depot as a runner.  These added sparkle to the table and magnified the candlelight and beads.

THE INVITATION:

In  a world of instant communication, I still love sending paper invitations to set the mood for a special party.  For the Mardi Gras Soirée, I printed the invitation on the computer, pasted it on a purple construction paper,

image image image image

and added a gold fleur-de-lis wax seal. image I rolled it up scroll-like and tied it in cascading metallic ribbons in our party colors.  I placed this in a cellophane bag and fascened a gold-sequined mask to the front of the bag with more of the same ribbon.   Festive!  Imagine the excitement of finding one of these in your mailbox!

THE TABLE SETTING:

I had a lot of fun with this tablescape!  I set the table with cream placemats, gold chargers, cream/green china and gold napkins tied with a purple satin ribbon.  I placed sequined masks at each place setting, alternating gold ones with purple ones.  The glassware was a combination of purple water goblets and clear wine glasses.

imageimageI draped Mardi Gras beads from the chandelier for a real wow factor beneath the spectacular bouquet of fresh tulips. I used gold fleur-de-lis bookends I already had( Barnes and Noble), on either side of the vase to bring in another element of the theme and more gold.  I scattered tons of bead necklaces and coins all over the table and finished the table with many white votives and 2 larger gold votives for balance on either side of the tulips.

image

image

imageimageimage

image

LAISSEZ LES BONS TEMPS ROULER!

5 thoughts on “Laissez les bons temps rouler! A Mardi Gras Soirée

  1. WOW!!! MAGNIFICIENT!!!! Johanne, does your brain NEVER take a rest??? However do you manage to even begin to think of these wonderful and fun ideas? I always look forward to your posts, they always manage to bring a smile to my face!! Have Fun at your Mardi Gras Celebration…Wish I was there!!! Date: Sun, 23 Feb 2014 13:16:26 +0000 To: kathyklimczak@hotmail.com

  2. Hello, Johanne! I’m so glad you visited my blog not only because it’s nice to have you as a visitor, but because I might otherwise have missed out on this terrific celebration of Mardi Gras! First and foremost: THE TULIPS!!! It has always been my contention that there are no rules when it comes to fanciful, fun tablescaping. You have cemented that theory by bringing this marvelous flourish of beautiful purple tulips to the table. What a great idea!!! They’re gorgeous, and they’re different. Different in my book is ALWAYS a good thing when it comes to setting a memorable table.

    The chandelier embellishment is really striking! It makes me wish I would have kept my chandelier in the dining room….but that’s water under the bridge that ain’t worth trying to tread! :-)

    I love to see Mardi Gras depicted in an elegant way. I’m all for fun and debauchery whenever I can get into it, but I like to do it in style and with at least a facade of grace. This table fits the bill!!! Nice job! Have a great celebration, and thanks again for stopping by my site!

Leave a Reply

